# how to do it
# 64 cpl
30 line (1920 char)
35 line (2240 char)
**36 line (2304 char)**
30 lines is about 250 words
*35–36 lines is about 300 words*
# 66 cpl
30 line (1980 char)
**35 line (2310 char)**
36 line (2376 char)
30 lines is 250+ words
*35-36 lines is 300+ words*
# BBEDIT
Set Page Guide or Character Width in “Editor Defaults” to 64, or 66 or whatever you like.
Then (per doc with ⌘⌥, if you prefer) soft wrap text to either page guide (works whether page guide is visible or not) OR character width.
Glance at status; stop when done with line 35. OR, turn off “Use "hard" lines in soft-wrapped views” and you don’t even have to glance down.
*This would be basically perfect, but alas, it doesn’t break lines at hyphens, whether hard or soft.*
# iA Writer
Settings - Editor - Line length limit 64
Well, it doesn’t have the concept of “lines” so you can only count characters or words, but it doesn’t count spaces or returns as characters, so ig it doesn’t really lend itself to the idea of a “page” at all.
iA Writer *does* break lines at hyphens, whether hard or soft! (One thing about soft hyphens though, in iA and Uly, they seem to move around a little bit, like it kinda breaks the line wherever it wants)
# Ulysses
Have line length set to 66 lines in SETTINGS…
Stop at end of 35th line without going over.
Since there’s no visual predefined page breaks in the Uly editor (far as I can tell), set the GOAL for the sheet to “at most” 35 lines, and watch the little PROGRESS indicator.
## little stuff
Use View → Appearance → Show Page Background if you want, to make it look more page-y (doesn’t really matter, come to think of it)
Templates don’t work for goals, but you can keep a sheet in the group with a goal set and then just DUPLICATE it to not have to remake the goal every time. (Favorite the sheet to make it more identifiable at a glance.)
In the little settings icon at the bottom of the STATISTICS part of the PROGRESS pane of the dashboard, you can set “NORM PAGE” to 66 chars, 35 lines (doesn’t really matter, but will make the “Pages” calculation accurate in the Counter).
Even with Dashboard not showing, you can hit ⌘7 to pop up a Counter window — though it is modal; it can’t just float off to the side while you type (pretty sure they used to have windows like that that could. A regrettable regression, that. Same with Markup window.)
There’s also View → Show Counter that makes a word count pill hover at top left of editor, which when clicked on seems to bring up the same detailed counter, but the pill itself only shows words, plus the little closing circle icon of your goal — the counter pill itself, it seems, cannot be made to count lines. Only words. (Dumb.)
If you do have a goal set and want to watch the line count more meticulously than the little closing-circle thingy (which will turn red if you go over, but green a few lines before if your goal is “AT MOST”), either the OVERVIEW or the PROGRESS pane will work.
### EXTRA BLANK LINES
> When you want to add more white lines, you’ll have to use “line breaks”. You can do this by pressing ⇧⏎ (shift-return) on Ulysses for Mac. On your iPad or iPhone, tap the A| button and select “Line Break” from the panel. These line breaks will be exported as such: add three of them and you’ll get three white lines.
> On Ulysses for Mac, you can see which is which by selecting your text. The ¶ signs stand for paragraph breaks, ⏎ indicates a line break.
[https://stories.ulysses.app/eline-explains-1/](https://stories.ulysses.app/eline-explains-1/)
(It’s kind of like regular markdown’s two spaces at the end of a line followed by a single return.)
These line breaks do not show up in Marked 2 preview, at least not as far as I can tell (maybe there’s a setting you can tweak). But they do show up as extra white space in, for example, Uly’s own PDF preview.
### page breaks on export?
> Disclaimer - I'm a complete beginner with Ulysses, but here's what I tweaked to get page breaks before each chapter:
> Select all the content you wish to export in the left-hand menu
> Click on the Export icon in the top right-hand corner
> Select the style you want at the top (PDF, DOCX, etc)
> In the Style option below, left-click on the style (Mine said Swiss Knife) and then Manage Styles
> In the Styles pop-up, select a style (Swiss Knife), right-click and select Duplicate
> This will create a new style Swiss Knife (copy) - right click on this and select Edit
> In the file that's opened (Swiss Knife (copy).ulss) scroll down to the line that begins with heading-2 and add a line that has page-break: before in that section (make sure it's between the left and right curly brackets.
> Save this file, then click away the styles panel and go back to your export preview and select your new style Swiss Knife (copy)
> You should now see page breaks before each Chapter (or level 2) heading
[https://www.reddit.com/r/ulysses/comments/17ierg9/page\_breaks/](https://www.reddit.com/r/ulysses/comments/17ierg9/page_breaks/)
# Pages
make a custom page setup:
115×175 mm
margins 15mm top; 20mm bottom; 10 left/right
century supra OT 9 point, line space 1.1